He’s up to Something

image

One word that really, really intrigues me is ‘Human being’.Of course, in our fast world even that has been shortened to Human.But if you would slow down for a little while with me I’d share with you the wealth of knowledge and limitless possibilities that one word opens my mind to.
For the sake of this post I’ll focus on the second part of the word:’Being’.The continuous form of ‘Be’ from the verb ‘To Be’, which indicates a state of existence.For example, to BE alive, simply means you’re living, you’re in existence.That’s ‘to be’, getting to a state, accepting you’ve arrived and not seeing the need for any further exploits. Being,on the other hand, goes a step further. The best way I can explain it is ‘to be IN THE PROCESS OF BECOMING’. So we’re in the process of becoming better people and, I daresay, more human.

image

Each day Life offers us choices, and as we make them, we become the result of our choices.
When I’m asked ‘how are you?’, I usually respond ‘I’m thriving’, because I believe it sheds more light on the state I’m in. I’m thriving. Like a cactus will in a desert, because I’m learning to push my way out,under harsh conditions and stand tall in my own little spot under the hot sun of life. And because I did not give up but pushed my way out,I get to enjoy the cool weather at night, under the same sky from which the sun mercilessly shone on me during the day. A lesson: there’s a reward for perseverance.
God created the world and rested,so my Bible says. But He did not rest from our lives.He created us for communion with Himself, and that’s one of His chief delights.  Each day He wakes us up,and waits patiently for us to invite Him to spend the day with us, to walk with us. And I find, at the end of each day His hand was evident in my life,that I lived it much better than I would have on my own. God created physical masterpieces when He made us,but our world and our characters became sinful.So He had to mould our characters into masterpieces as well.This He does on a daily basis,through the circumstances that come our way.
We’re all works in progress. I’m His biggest job,I know. I wake up each day filled with good thoughts,by the day’s end the story’s totally different. But I love the fact GOD’S working on me. I’d rather it were He than anyone else. I’m safe in His hands. I’m a work in progress.HIS work. Safe in the potter’s hands.

image

Ever been in an exam hall,heard the examiner say ‘stop work’,and been perplexed because you were nowhere near finishing? I have been,lots of times. The good thing is, that will never happen with God. He’s the examiner, the overall boss. When He starts a work,He finishes it. So when He sets you down,finally, you can rest assured He has finished His work. No need for anxiety when you’re in His hands.

One of my favourite songs is by Brandon Heath,and you’ll see why in a bit. He sings:
‘Still wondering why I’m here
Still wrestling with my fear
But oh, He’s up to something
And the farther on I go
I’ve seen enough to know
That I’m not here for nothing
He’s up to something(I luv this line)
There is hope for me yet
Because God won’t forget
All the plans He’s made for me
I have to wait and see
He’s not finished with me yet.’

When frustration attempts to overwhelm you keep this in mind:God’s up to something in your life (you just can’t see it yet).
I leave you with these words:
Don’t ever, ever, EVER give up on yourself. God hasn’t.

image

Leave a Reply

